Nobel Medicine Prize Winners Announced

Honor awarded to scientists from Yale, UC Berkley and Stanford for research into cellular transport

  • Share
  • Read Later
Jonathan Nackstrand / AFP / Getty Images

A screen displays photos of James E Rothman from the US, Randy W Schekman from the US and Thomas C Suedhof from Germany, all joined winners of the Medicine Nobel Prize, at a press conference to announce the laureates the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine on Oct. 7, 2013 in Stockholm.

The Nobel Assembly has announced the winners of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

James Rothman, a chemist from Yale University, Randy Schenkman, a professor of molecular and cell biology at the University of California, Berkley, and Thomas C. Südhof, a German-born biochemist based at Stanford University, will share the prize “for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells.” The three scientists will split the $1.2 million prize.

The medicine award is the first of this year’s prizes to be revealed. Honors in physics, chemistry, literature, economics and peace will be announced later this week.

Each prize has the same monetary award, and will be presented in Stockholm, Sweden, except for the Peace Prize, which is awarded in Oslo, Norway.